A friend of mine online saw an advertisement for PimpMyRide.com about 6 months ago. He went to the website and found a place to sign up and apply to get his car “pimped”. After about 6 months he received the following email:
Subject: Congratulations! You’ve been selected from PimpMyRide.com
Congratulations!! You’re application has been reviewed and you have been selected!! Please follow the link provided with details on how to complete your application process and Get Pimped!
http://www.pimpmyride.com
/finalistapplication.html NOTE: If you do not follow through the final application process your spot will be given to the next most qualified applicant. Due to the large volume of requests we require a small application/processing fee.
He was excited at the mere possibility of having his car customized by the popular MTV television show. He forwarded the email to me and asked if I thought it was legitimate. When I read the email and saw that they were asking for an “application/processing fee”, it got me pretty suspicious. I checked around and apparently several people have been duped into sending money to them, in hopes of having their car fixed up and being on the MTV show. I came across a post on the consumer blog at ABC13.com titled “Houston woman finds Pimp My Ride web site has nothing to do with MTV” which can be found here: http://consumerblog.abc13.com/2007/09/houston-woman-f.html
The report explains how the PimpMyRide.com website actually works. The website is run by a company which is based out of the Caribbean island nation of St. Kitts and Nevis. The website also admits that it is in no way affiliated with MTV and claims the application/processing fee just makes the person eligible to receive discounts on auto parts and accessories.
Who knows how many people have been scammed into sending these people money. Do your friends and family a favor and pass this message on so that these scammers do not continue to make money by misleading unsuspecting people.


